Ryu wins dramatic ANA Inspiration as Thompson handed four-stroke penalty

Share

A disbelieving and tearful Thompson dropped back to second place as the result of those penalties, regathered her composure and immediately responded with a birdie to regain a share of the lead. She birdied the 13th and 15th holes and gave herself a 15-foot eagle putt on the final holes that could have won the title.

This was Ryu's fourth LPGA victory and her second major following the 2011 U.S. Women's Open title. "I don't think you could find one player that would say otherwise. During play, I didn't even check the leaderboard, but I thought Lexi played really, really well", Ryu said after her round. She wrote, "I don't want anything that happened yesterday to take away from Seo Yun's victory".

Speaking to the Golf Channel, Thompson said: "It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it". Tears streaming down her face and visibly overwhelmed with emotion, Thompson slapped high five's with fans who reached out between the stands to show their support as she made her way past Poppie's Pond and onto the 18 green.

Ryu So-yeon misses a birdie putt on the second hole during the final round of the ANA Inspiration.

Got nothing: Trump says after first meeting with Xi Jinping
The trade relationship between the two countries and the rising threat of North Korea's nuclear program will be at the top of the agenda.

Pettersen, playing in the final group with Thompson, played shot-for-shot with Thompson until the end but settled for a third-place tie with a final-round 70 and four-day total of 13-under-par 275.

What's astonishing about Thompson's penalty is she committed the violation the previous day and LPGA officials only learned about Thompson's violation because a television viewer brought it to their attention, according to The Associated Press. "It's a hard thing to do, and it made me sick to be honest". On top of that, consequently, another 2-stroke penalty was tacked on for signing an incorrect scorecard after her Saturday round for not accounting for the assessed 2-stroke penalty.

"Is this a joke?"

Realising it was not, she added: "That's just ridiculous", before beginning to cry.

Reshuffle Chronicles - Jonas Throws in the Towel, Resigns As MP
Calls to Jonas went unanswered, and his former spokesperson couldn't comment because he no longer worked for the treasury. Former deputy finance minister Mcebisi Jonas has resigned from Parliament.

Thompson had previously won the ANA Inspiration - once known as the Dinah Shore Tournament - in 2014.

Golf fans on the course and the internet erupted with outrage when the LPGA's decision became understood.

The viewer contacted European Tour officials to explain that Harrington had marginally knocked his ball forward while replacing his marker during the opening round. "Let's go [Thompson], win this thing anyway", Tiger Woods tweeted shortly after the penalty was announced.

LPGA rules official Sue Witters said later the email was sent through the LPGA.com Fan Feedback portal and received by the tour's website team.

Klopp delivers nightmare update while key man to miss Stoke clash
Of the injuries, Klopp said: "I don't think we have a lot (of injuries) because of intensity". We have to use the rest of the season to get more points.

Share